Get to Know Me

Hey. My name is Saleh Alatiqi and I’m from Kuwait, born and raised there. I came to Florida State University to do my undergraduate studies in Finance and French. People here find it difficult to pronounce my name so most people call me Sully. The only time I have been in the states before was when I was 3. My family and I moved to Kentucky and stayed there for 2 years so my dad can do some further research, and then went back to Kuwait. Before I came here I attended the American International School of Kuwait. I have always been involved in sports throughout my time at AIS which I’ve attended since kindergarten.  I played and still play soccer, volleyball, and badminton. Much of what I do for fun revolves around soccer as I do not only play it, but also follow a team, play soccer video games and discuss it with fellow passionate soccer fans. I’m also a scuba-diver and I love the sea. That being said, I hate hot weather. My ideal world would have a constant temperature of around 7-10 degrees Celsius, that’s around 45-50 degrees Fahrenheit. Then when I go to the beach the weather would just magically change until I’m ready to leave.

Häagen-Dazs strawberry cheesecake definitely makes my top 5 flavors list.

I listen to all kinds of music with the exception of heavy rock music. Aside from that, I appreciate most kinds of arts and beauty. As much as I love sports I am very lazy. That is just one of the contradictions in my personality.  One way to get my attention is to mention ice cream. I had to write a creative piece on any topic of my choice and I chose ice cream. They say when you write a paper about a topic you like, you generally write a better paper. Well I got 100% on that paper.

My blog. I will be posting on a weekly basis to give you a good idea of what life is like for a middle-easterner studying at FSU and living in Tallahassee in general. When reading my blog, look forward to reading some very interesting things about Tally and FSU, and to know what it would be like for you to receive an education at one of the top 100 schools in the states.

You can send me a message me on facebook if you want to ask me any specific questions and I’ll try to get back to you as soon as possible. Click here to go to my facebook profile page.

One Response to Get to Know Me

  1. Bader Al Moulah says:

    Well done Saloo7, i’m proud of you, and way to represent AIS. Good luck at FSU.
    P.S
    we won EMAC volleyball 😉

Leave a Reply

