Post 4: Just one more week to go….

Noles minced the Gators!!!!! WOOH! 31-7 what a game!

Even though I was in Miami for thanksgiving break (and I am completely in love with Miami) what I really wanted was to be back in Tally watching the Noles spear the gators and celebrating here and not there!  We get to go to the ACC championship game, FSU is also the state champion after 1999 and we also finished the season ranked inside the top 20! This has in my opinion been an awesome season for FSU.

For those of you who don’t know Florida State University and the University of Florida have had a long standing rivalry which gets pretty intense. This rivalry is not just limited to the football field but goes in all corners around academic to diversity in student population.

So back to the game, when we started the gators (UF) took a lead of 7-3, but after that the Noles didn’t let them score and rounded up the game at 31-7. And right after the game it was found that Maryland had beaten NC State which gave FSU a chance to take part in the ACC championship which will be held in Charlotte, NC. Pretty cool stuff, huh?

Apart from that exam week is here 😦 and the tension is killing me. I have 3 finals and one multimedia presentation next week!!! I have to run to the library every morning at 9 to get a good spot because by 10 the whole place is full and don’t even get me started about studying at night! I can’t do all-nighters no matter how hard I try and two nights ago the library was so crowded by people that I ended up sitting on the floor between the book shelves (it was surprisingly comfortable) but that was also because I was too lazy to check the other floors for available seating.

FSU has 8 libraries; my favorite is Dirac Science library because it’s really quiet there but Strozier or Club Stroz as the lingo here goes is the most popular, mostly because of the wide variety of facilities it offers. It is open 24 hours a day for 5 days a week. All of the libraries have a lot of sources both in online and hardcopy form (the website says over 3 million) they also offer free tutoring for most of the classes. There is academic advising and one-on-one help options which comes in handy when you have multimedia or research projects. The website also helps with a free citation manager which I think is really helpful because I’m terrible at citations. Also the study rooms are sound proof and they have smart rooms too which are really cool!

A word of advice before I sign off and head to study again: Even though I am the kind of person who studies best in my night suit studying in the room isn’t really a good idea….there are just too many distractions like food and a cozy bed 😦

Well, this is going to be a hard week….adios for now!!!!

Leave a Reply

