New term, New Beginings

I’m back!!! And as much as I miss lying back and doing nothing the semester is in full swing here at FSU. I really enjoyed the fall term and so far spring term, even though it has only been a week, seems pretty exciting. I’m taking Organic Chem., Calc 3, English, a colloquium class and a social science class called Theory of Dynamics, Racism and Oppression. I’ve got my hands full of assignments and even after finishing up this blog I am going to head to the library and work on two papers. 😦

My social sciences class about Racism and Oppression is actually very cool and even though I have only had 3 sessions so far I am really interested to know where this would take me. It seeks to try to provide an analysis behind the logic of Race and Racism, which till now has been only generically defined.

The first week back was pretty uneventful. I went from class searching, to meeting new people and making new friends and getting the flu which seems to be doing its rounds all around FSU. BTW Tallahassee is freezing these days, I kind of understand the whole cold wave thing as its snowing in almost every state of USA except Florida but the winds are literally piercing right through my body even though I‘m all layered up.

So 2010 has been a really good year for FSU apart from a good football season,

1)      FSU was at the forefront of the whole Gulf oil spill debate and a lot of professors collaborated to study different aspects of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.FSU researchers presented their understanding and gave their reviews at countless international media forums and helped the state understand the issues arising with the spill.

2)      The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at FSU received a grant that will enable it to be further turned into a state of the art place for study of environmental and biological samples. In short a better study facility for chemical analysis!

3)      The Ruby Diamond Hall which had been closed for the last two years finally reopened its doors. For those of you that don’t know, Ruby Diamond auditorium is the majestic hall which shows up in nearly all the FSU postcard pictures along with the famous Westcott fountain where people are apparently dumped into on their birthdays

4)      FSU was also labeled as the “Most Engaged Campus of the Year”. It also ranked Fourth on the Princeton Reviews and USA Today’s list for “Best Value Colleges” among Public Universities

5)      According to Discover magazine, FSU’s research on the “Mahjong” Cancer gene is ranked number 18 in their compilation of 2010’s Top 100 science and technology stories. The study was the first to identify the cell competition process within mammalian tissue that suppresses cancer by causing cancerous cells to, in effect, kill themselves!

So I may be 12 days too late to wish everyone a Happy New Year but I guess I’ll be cheesy and say its better late than never, I really hope this year turns out to be an awesome one! Though I won’t say that my 2010 was an absolutely amazing year because it for one went by way to fast and two I had to say goodbye to too many things but I seriously think that I ended up experiencing many other new things and I am very grateful for that. I mean I got to come here all the way to FSU from Pakistan, I met a lot of nice people and made the nicest friends ever (especially my roomies)  I got to participate in a whole bunch of American festivities and so I am very satisfied with how everything turned out. Here is to hoping that everything turns out well for this year too!!!

Happy Reading!

One Response to New term, New Beginings

  1. cynthia green says:

    Nastereen,

    Thank you for writing such interesting blogs— I really enjoy reading them.

Leave a Reply

