decisions… :/

I am in a really good mood today due to a series of very fortunate occurrences. The sun is shining for one and it’s not very cold, I finally got over my sushi addiction( believe it or not I have been craving and consuming sushi since the past 6 days) and my favorite drama( did I ever mention my Korean drama addiction? Well I think they are the best!!) Is turning out just the way I wanted it to. However the number one reason is that one of my class got cancelled and that gave me a 5 hour break between classes 😀 . So to spread my happy vibe; I have decided not to write about mope-y and depressing stuff today.

I finally went to the gym yesterday. I had been planning on doing that since I had stepped into FSU but I was way too lazy to motivate myself. I have unhealthy habits and one major one being that if I want to lose weight I cut down on food instead of exercising. However my roommate finally forced me yesterday to move off my laptop and go exercise with her and I ended up actually enjoying it. It also made me feel good about myself so I have made a resolution to exercise more often now, at least twice a week.

So anyway, today I’m mostly going to write about the factors that ‘should’ be considered when making a decision about which college to attend.

Even though this is the time when most college applications are due, let’s fast-forward and think about the time when you have to finally make a decision. Picking the wrong college can not only take away a huge chunk of your parents’ money (unless you have 100% scholarship) but also cause a lot of stress and anxiety. No matter what we all wish for college is expensive…it’s very expensive so it’s best to make an informed decision (it’s also best to make the decision yourself instead of waiting for some sign from a higher power or something)

1)      How much will it cost?

This is an important consideration for students who get admission on self finance basis. They have to consider how much they can ask their parents to put in. However if you get financial aid it’s important to look at the offers closely. If you get a lower amount of aid you can also contact the schools and make another offer, sometimes the schools are willing to negotiate on this basis.

2)      Location

Do you want to live near or far from home? Is it a college town/city or a megalopolis? The convenient thing about college towns is that they are well equipped with the needs of college students and that everything is near/ easily available. However the overtime they can get boring as everything that is discoverable in the city has been discovered at this time the larger cities come to aid as there is a lot going on.

3)      Size

Would you be more comfortable in a large student population setting or a smaller population? There are advantages for both. A larger setting means that there is more diversity around and there therefore different groups of people around making it easier to make find your own group of friends. There is also the blessing of anonymity. However that also means larger classrooms depending obviously on the course type. Larger campuses also have a lot of things going on like college fairs and therefore there is greater chance of finding opportunities. A smaller student population means smaller classrooms and therefore greater interaction with your professors and the ease of meeting faculty is greater.

4)      Safe/Comfortable

I don’t really have to explain this one as campus safety and how the administration keeps the campus safe need to be considered

5)      Facilities

There are going to be days when you would have nothing to do, no movies that ‘have’ to be seen, and no blogs that ‘have’ to be written or followed. There is going to be a time that you’ll wish that someone, anyone was online but no one would be there. So facilities provided by the university are very very very important and should be considered.

6)      How flexible are the requirements when it comes to majors?

I should have mentioned this somewhere in the beginning… However I know that most of us firmly believe that we will keep with the intended major we started with but that is not always the case. Most of the times, it’s just not what we expected and therefore it is also necessary to find out how flexible universities are within curriculums regarding majors. Starting with a degree program which is flexible and gives a wide range of opportunities is very important especially in today’s markets where employment decisions are enforced by economic traditions.

With all of this I end today’s post and hope that these pointers help you in making college decisions. Happy Reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

