Thoughts during spring break

I have been very random with my postings…my apologies.

I woke up today to the news of the earthquake-cum-tsunami in Japan. The 8.9 magnitude earthquake was one of the largest recorded anywhere in the last century. The death toll reported till now is 400 but it is expected to rise. Our thoughts and prayers are with those who are recently affected by the major earthquakes and tsunami flooding in Japan within the past couple of hours. Those in the United States of America can donate to help with the disaster relief by texting REDCROSS to 90999 to make a $10 donation.

This week also saw the celebration of women’s day. No, I am not going to make this a blog about the complexity and trials that women face world over. I just wanted to share a video that I had run into. It is a 2 minute, specially commissioned for women’s day video in which we see Daniel Craig and hear Dame Judi Dench.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkp4t5NYzVM

I read a blog today by Earl the butcher on having his dad on Facebook and being friends with him on it and I remembered how my brother had called me a few months back complaining that my father had ‘friend-ed’ him on Facebook. The blog was hilarious and was titled “DAD: I’m on MyFace! EARL: It’s Facebook, Dad”. I remembered how I had felt when my father had added me on Facebook, I had laughed a lot at that and though I scanned my whole profile for any things I might not have wanted him to see, I ended up leaving my profile as is, not just because I happen to be a saint of a daughter and have nothing to hide. I figured if there was something on my profile I didn’t want my father to see, I probably shouldn’t be doing that thing, also I probably wouldn’t want anyone else to see that thing either. Turns out, my dad is cool enough for me and does not comment on my statuses and pictures.

There are only two more days left for spring break to end and I am trying my best to make the most out of my time left…48 more hours later I will be once again heading back to Tallahassee and into the humdrum of what is called college life.

So I have decided to finally work on my term papers and the assignments that are due as soon as I get back. I know I should have worked on these earlier but instead I spent a whole week shopping and exploring Houston. No regrets about that. Even though the downtown has nothing going on, there are many tiny interesting crevices and nooks that escape attention. I found myself in many tiny interesting vintage shops. I discovered that I am not that much of a mall person; I like personalized singular shops instead. Rice village, the small shopping district for Rice University students located behind Rice University, was like a heaven for me because it was full of small shops with interesting collective items (which were overpriced for college students).

As interesting as Houston has been and as much as I loved living alone, cooking alone for myself and doing whatever I wanted to do whenever I wanted to, I miss Tallahassee and my dorm room a lot. I can’t wait to get back to my room and sleep in my own bed and gossip with my roommates. I miss my roomies a lot too 🙂 I surprisingly miss studying in the library, which is exactly what I would be doing as soon as I get back, given that I slacked off so much and avoided doing all my homework.

One Response to Thoughts during spring break

  1. abadullah says:

    as usual a good interesting update but you need not to scan your profile on a/c of factors mentioned in your blog.

    i’m and ‘d always be happy whatever you do unless you do not loose sight of your goals.

    best always,

Leave a Reply

