Procrastination…

I was going over my previous posts for inspiration and I realized that through most of them I complained of excess workload. Well I seem to be having the same thing again, but this time due to my incurable laziness. I spent the whole weekend talking to my friends from back home and just lazing around and listening to music. My immense phase of procrastination ended at 5pm on Sunday, when I realized that I had missed an assignment deadline and even the extension deadline :/ not very smart of me…

Even though procrastination is extremely satisfying, I now have two 3000 word research papers due on Thursday along with a journal entry. To add salt to my wounds my Calc 3 professor announced that he had just put a 40 question homework assignment online due for this Friday.

My motto on the weekend was ‘Why do now, what you can do later-or perhaps-never’ and to make myself feel better I actually googled it…

Turns out procrastination is almost a necessity and even though it has a bad reputation it could be the answer of some of life’s complex problems…trust me I became aware of how life really is when I came to college. Some of the best reasons I read were:

1)      Procrastination helps to reduce stress: “Have a deadline looming in a week or so? Why worry about it now and cause yourself  unnecessary stress? ….You are going to worry about it the night before anyway, so wait until then to tackle the project. Look at that – you reduced seven days  of stress down to one night”

2)      It increases your confidence as it is- for all those nerds like me out there- like living on the edge. Doesn’t it make you feel like such a rebel?

3)      Improves health because sleep is good for you. And then having a stress free sleep prolongs your life.

4)      I didn’t realize until yesterday during a presentation about being green in one of my class that I actually save energy and thus the world….because I turn of the lights and my laptop before falling asleep+ almost all my assignments are due online so I conserve by not doing them

By now I am sure that my father might be debating the wisdom in actually sending me to college and spending all that money….

However I do not advocate procrastination…now…that I have all my homework piled up. It always starts by a little procrastination, which doesn’t seem like a big deal, but then it leads to a little more and then a little even more and finally you have a huge period of time you just wasted. In college it hurts with bad grades, in real life it pinches bad especially as one of my friend told me last night that she delayed paying her electricity bills for her apartment and kept putting it off till they finally cut off her supply :/…Imagine a whole night without the electricity.

Procrastination might even hurt the whole dependability factor because it might lead to you letting down a friend and it damages a person’s credibility.

Then, as in my case a whole weekend of, procrastination (however much I try to convince myself that I was justified…) actually leads to a whole week or even more of rushing for things. So there rises an argument of having a day of peace of mind followed by 6 days and nights of rushing Vs taking it gradually and easing it over the whole space time of the week.

An unnamed author/blogger on a website called the experience project wrote a short paragraph about procrastination and said,

“Maybe I procrastinate not because I’m lazy, but because I’m afraid of confronting things that make me uncomfortable or upset.”

I think that she is right.



One Response to Procrastination…

  1. abadullah says:

    laziness is not expected from a person like you , deadlines of all planned / expected activities should be meticolously be followed – can be compromised in the event of natural hinderance only.

    regards,
    abad

Leave a Reply

