Cricket mania

I have never been a really big cricket fan…but a match between Pakistan & India requires even the non-followers to convert into die hard supporters. I don’t promote any rifts, most of my friends are Indians but when I saw myself screaming for Pakistan when the bowled Yuvraj for zero runs and my Indian friends shouted taunts back a weird rivalry rose, I’m sorry but some occasions require this. None of my American friends understood this obsession but cricket for us is like the super bowl or the orange bowl, or probably like the UF and FSU football match…. I don’t know how to describe this.

However such occasions also happen to be the part where you end up missing home the most. Especially when your friends message you with repeated updates of everything you are missing…and you have to instead stream and watch the match on a small screen…yeah not so fun. Despite the inconveniences the desi crowd is living up to its name and religiously gathered at 5am in the morning to watch the match…

As the rain pours on Tallahassee today and as the thunder rolls I am keeping my fingers crossed…

I hate changing the topic, well I hate taking my eyes off the screen to write this entry for today too but anyway the Center for Global Engagement organized an International Bazaar. I mentioned the bazaar in my last post but the significance of the event other than the fact that it was the first event this semester that I attended which was organized by the CGE was that it’s an excellent way for international students to come together and show their culture and talents to everyone. The highlight was that I got to eat a samosa and vegetable rolls with tamarind sauce for only a dollar and after almost a year. A lot of student organizations had set up their booths as had a lot of countries. The best booth according to me was by the Buddhist Students association. They gave free samples of ‘unconscious drawings’ i.e. drawings done when the person is in a state of meditation. The cool thing about is that whatever angle you view them from a different image is perceived.  I think that it was cool+ they had yummy chocolate cupcakes which were free.

                We have Shirin Ebadi a Nobel laureate giving a public talk this Friday. Shirin Ebadi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2003 for her efforts for democracy, peace, and women’s rights in the Middle East. There will also be a book signing for her book “Iran Awakening” and the most recent one so I am super excited about it…

One Response to Cricket mania

  1. abadullah says:

    yes this match had been hyped up like a royal breakup in public. there were dcreens mounted in easy to see position across country , places were jam packed and people were bursting with screams but at the end – screens faded to black. anyway today is a new day and we all back to work i.e business as usual here.

    wish you all the best – keep writing about life at fsu and tallahessee. its always very nice to read your reviews.

    regads,
    abad

Leave a Reply

